Dean of the Year

Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes the best in business through our programs, awards, and events. It is crucial for us to recognize those individuals who play a leading role in Beta Gamma Sigma members becoming the best in business: our Deans.

The Dean of the Year Award is a recognition awarded by Beta Gamma Sigma to an outstanding Dean who made significant contributions to the success of his or her chapter while supporting the Beta Gamma Sigma mission throughout the course of the academic year.

Beta Gamma Sigma invites our Highest Honors Chapters to nominate their Deans to be honored as a recipient of the Dean of the Year Award.


Prof. Barry O’Mahony

Dean, Abu Dhabi University

Professor Barry O’Mahony is a Professor of Services Management and Dean of the College of Business at Abu Dhabi University. A recognized scholar in the development of complex service delivery models for government and luxury hotels, he has been widely consulted by Federal, State, and local government bodies, as well as the Police Force in the Australian State of Victoria.

He holds an earned PhD in consumer culture from the University of Melbourne and has taught and/or managed programs in Australia, Europe, China (Hong Kong), the United States and the United Arab Emirates. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Hospitality and his research has been published extensively in international journals. He has received several best paper awards for his work.